Everything You Need to Know About Passing Your TOGAF Foundation Exam

Everything You Need to Know About Passing Your TOGAF Foundation Exam

Everything You Need to Know About Passing Your TOGAF Foundation Exam

Everything You Need to Know About Passing Your TOGAF Foundation Exam

The TOGAF Foundation is the precursor to your TOGAF Certification exam, which you'll need to pass with flying colors. Here's what you need to know about it.

Keyword(s): togaf foundation

If you are an aspiring information technology architect looking for a job, you need to have qualifications and experience to prove that you can do the job.

The Open Group Architecture Framework (TOGAF) certification comes into play. The TOGAF Certification Program has enabled more than 80,000 Enterprise Architects and trainers worldwide to demonstrate their proven knowledge of the framework.

Check out our guide on everything you need to know about passing your TOGAF Foundation exam.

What is TOGAF?

The Open Group Architecture Framework, also referred to as TOGAF, is a framework for enterprise architecture. It provides an approach for designing, planning, implementing, and governing an enterprise IT architecture.

Essentially, TOGAF helps organisations design IT infrastructures that meet the requirements of their business.

TOGAF encapsulates a high-level approach to enterprise architecture. Enterprise architecture is split into four different domains: data, technology, application, and business.

TOGAF is ideal for developers and technical leads who want to enhance their skill set and become an Enterprise Architect.

What Do TOGAF Professionals Do?

TOGAF certified professionals, also known as Enterprise Architects, help to create and develop long term IT strategies for businesses. Enterprise Architects are responsible for making sure that the IT processes run smoothly.

TOGAF qualified professionals often work with large companies that want to ensure their business strategy aligns with their information technology.

According to The Open Group, as of 2016 60% of Fortune 500 companies have adopted TOGAF as their standard.

How Do You Become TOGAF Certified?

TOGAF has two exams that you can take: TOGAF 9 Foundation and TOGAF 9 Certified. To become qualified and certified, you need to pass the TOGAF exams.

TOGAF 9 Foundation Exam

The TOGAF Foundation exam, or the TOGAF Part 1, compromises of 40 multiple choice questions. Each question is worth one mark. You need to get at least 55% to pass, which means you need to score at least 22 out of 40.

The time limit for the TOGAF 9 Foundation exam is 60 minutes. So, make sure you space out your time and allow enough time to go back to any questions that you want to check.

You can retake the test if you fail, however you need to wait a month before you can try the exam again.

TOGAF 9 Certified Exam

The TOGAF 9 Certified exam, or TOGAF Part 2, compromises of 8 complex scenario questions with gradient scoring. The correct answer scores you 5 points, the second best scores you 3 points, the third best answer scores you 1 point.

You need to get at least 60% to pass the exam, which means you need to score 24 points or more out of 40.

The TOGAF 9 Certified exam time limit is 90 minutes and is an open book exam. Similar to the TOGAF 9 Foundation exam, if you fail the test you need to wait a month before you can retake it.

TOGAF 9 Combined Part 1 and 2

If you want to take the exams together, you can do so with the TOGAF 9 Combined Part 1 and 2 exams. This allows you to achieve a Level 2 TOGAF 9 certification after you have completed and passed the two tests.

The TOGAF 9 Combined Part 1 and 2 is just the same as if you were to take the exams separately. Part 1 is to be completed in 60 minutes and has 40 multiple choice questions. Whilst part 2 has to be completed in 90 minutes and it also has 8 complex scenario questions.

There is no break in between the exams. So, all together for the combined TOGAF exams, you have 150 minutes.

Training and TOGAF certification cost varies depending on your chosen training provider and where you choose to do the exam.

5 Reasons Why You Should Get a TOGAF Certification

TOGAF certifications can be difficult to get because there is a lot of data that you have to remember in order to pass the tests. But it is totally worth training and preparing yourself for the exam because of these 5 reasons:

1. Enterprise Architects Are in High Demand

Enterprise Architects are in high demand because more and more businesses are looking to structure their businesses with more effective strategies.

Due to Enterprise Architects being in high demand, it also means that businesses are willing to pay good money for you to help them with their IT infrastructure.

2. High Investment Returns

Because TOGAF training courses and the examinations don't cost that much to do, they are a budget-friendly certification that can help you make more money in your career.

If you want a new challenge, it might be time to invest in your future by taking the TOGAF exams.

3. Validate Your Skills

TOGAF is a recognised certificate, so becoming TOGAF certified means that industry professionals are more likely to work with you. Companies can trust that you have the skills and knowledge necessary for taking their enterprise architecture and their business to the next level.

4. Anyone Can Take the Exam

Unlike other courses, TOGAF doesn't require you to have any prior qualifications or special requirements. So if you are looking for a way to get into IT architecture, taking the TOGAF exam is a great place to start.

5. Improve Your Management Skills

TOGAF combines the technical aspects of IT and the management side of the profession. TOGAF qualifications are a great idea for professionals who want to improve their management skills. During your career as an Enterprise Architect, you'll need to have good management skills so that you can keep an eye on all the different goings on during your designing of IT infrastructure.

Start Your TOGAF Foundation Training and Exam

Start your Enterprise Architect career today by starting your training course.

Need more motivation to start? Enterprise Architects can earn up to £88,000 a year.

Remember to revise and that your hard work will all pay off, once you become TOGAF certified.

Contact us now to learn more about our TOGAF Foundation courses and exams.

Architecture Center

Architecture Center Ltd fournit des services de conseil et de formation dans les domaines suivants : l’architecture d’entreprise, la gestion des processus d’entreprise et l’intégration de systèmes informatiques.

© 2021 Architecture Center Ltd. Tous Droits Réservés.