TOGAF vs ArchiMate: What's the Difference?

TOGAF vs ArchiMate: What's the Difference?

TOGAF vs ArchiMate: What's the Difference?

TOGAF vs ArchiMate: What's the Difference?

Trying to compare and contrast ArchiMate and TOGAF is tricky--but that doesn't mean there's nothing to be gained from trying. Here's what you should know.

Keyword(s): archimate

76% of businesses surveyed are starting, restarting, or renewing their enterprise architecture practices. Is your organisation part of this trend? Are you considering TOGAF or ArchiMate certification to improve your enterprise architecture practice but aren't sure which one to choose?

ArchiMate and TOGAF both offer you practical benefits. If you think they seem similar, you're not alone. Many enterprise architects wonder about the difference between TOGAF and ArchiMate.

Find out more about the similarities and differences between ArchiMate and TOGAF. You'll be better prepared to pick the right certification course for you.

ArchiMate vs TOGAF

TOGAF and ArchiMate are enterprise architecture (EA) standards. Enterprise architecture is the process by which businesses standardise and organise their IT infrastructure to align with business goals.

EA supports an organisation's digital transformation. It promotes IT growth and the modernisation of IT as a department.

One reason TOGAF and ArchiMate seem similar is that The Open Group manages and maintains both standards. The Open Group is a global consortium that develops vendor-neutral technology standards and certifications.

Both TOGAF and ArchiMate follow the basic concepts of EA that the ISO 42010 standard defines. The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) is an independent international organisation. It develops standards to ensure the quality, safety, and efficiency of products, services, and systems.

ISO 42010 distinguishes between the architecture itself and the documentation of that architecture. It recommends what an architecture description should include, but it doesn't specify the form it should take.

ArchiMate and TOGAF are both enterprise architecture standards. They don't fulfil the same purpose, though.

As we'll see, TOGAF deals with the architecture itself while ArchiMate provides a means of describing it.

What Is TOGAF 9.2?

TOGAF is an architecture framework. Perhaps more accurately, it's a framework of frameworks that describes elements of EA practice. It helps businesses align IT goals with overall business goals.

The most detailed content is the Architectural Development Method, which explains how to develop architectures. TOGAF has four architectural domains:

  • Business architecture
  • Applications architecture
  • Data architecture
  • Technology architecture

Business architecture includes business strategy, governance, and organisation. It describes how the adapt existing processes.

Applications architecture provides a method for structuring and using application systems in alignment with business goals. Data architecture defines how to structure data storage, management, and maintenance.

Technology architecture describes the hardware, software, and infrastructure a business needs to meet its goals.

TOGAF 9.2 keeps the main features and structure of the previous version of the standard. The updated version has better guidance and an improved structure. The editors have also removed obsolete content and corrected errors.

What Is ArchiMate 3.1?

ArchiMate is a modelling language. It helps enterprise architects to describe, analyse, and visualise the relationships among different architecture domains. ArchiMate provides a simple and uniform structure for describing the contents within domains and the relationships between them.

ArchiMate functions like an architectural drawing in traditional building architecture. Architectural diagrams show aspects of the construction and use of a building. In a similar way, ArchiMate offers a common language for describing the construction and operation of functions like:

  • Business processes
  • Organisational structures
  • Information flows
  • IT systems

ArchiMate supports high-level modelling that focuses on the essence of an organisation.

ArchiMate 3.1 includes a few minor but useful updates. One of the most helpful is a new value stream element. A directed notation for association and more formalised rules for deriving relationships are also new.

What's the Difference Between TOGAF and ArchiMate?

The differences between TOGAF and ArchiMate make them well-suited to work together. Many senior practitioners use TOGAF and ArchiMate as parts of a combined EA practice.

TOGAF describes the process of creating and managing enterprise management frameworks. It doesn't include a specific modelling language structure. ArchiMate provides that language.

TOGAF requires practitioners to document the baseline, transition, and target architectures. Architects express stakeholder concerns in ways that show relevant aspects of the architecture.

ArchiMate is a graphic language with standard shapes and colours. It graphically presents the different views in the TOGAF architecture.

TOGAF architectures have many relationships, which can make it challenging to maintain consistency. Using different notations compounds this difficulty.

ArchiMate relationships have a simpler structure. They have better support for relationships between domains.

To sum up, TOGAF shows the key tasks in the process of developing architectures. ArchiMate doesn't describe how to develop architectures. It offers a standardised way to document descriptions of those architectures.

ArchiMate vs TOGAF Training

Like the standards themselves, training programs for ArchiMate and TOGAF have some similarities. You can find training courses for ArchiMate and TOGAF online. These courses prepare you for the examination to become ArchiMate or TOGAF certified.

You don't need any prerequisites for the first level of either program.

Some programs have accreditation from The Open Group. Accredited course providers undergo assessments of their course, the delivery methods, and the organisation. In addition, all accredited trainers include the examination fee with the course fee.

The ArchiMate training program typically takes two days. TOGAF takes two days for a single level or four days for levels 1 and 2 combined.

Both training programs are available as self-paced e-learning courses or live online with an instructor. The live courses give you more variety in the working methods.

They incorporate multimedia presentations, group exercises and discussion, practical workshops, and case studies. They also have online practice tests to prepare for the certification exam.

Finding the Best TOGAF and ArchiMate Training Courses

TOGAF and ArchiMate certifications work together to enhance your enterprise architecture practise. They give you the tools to design, describe, and implement architectures across your organisation.

When you're ready to find online training courses, Architecture Center has what you're looking for. We offer accredited TOGAF 9 Level 1 and 2 (Foundation and Certified) and ArchiMate 3.1 training courses.

Our experienced instructors present the course material in a clear and engaging way. We offer courses throughout the year, so you can fit them into your schedule.

Check out our list of courses and register today. Take the next step towards TOGAF and ArchiMate certification.

Architecture Center

Architecture Center fournit des services de conseil et de formation dans les domaines suivants : l’architecture d’entreprise, la gestion des processus d’entreprise et l’intégration de systèmes informatiques.

Architecture Center est une marque de Advised Skills Ltd.

© 2021 Advised Skills Ltd. Tous Droits Réservés. Architecture Center est une marque de Advised Skills Ltd.